Humane Society Silicon Valley | Fact Sheet
Humane Society Silicon Valley
Nav Menu


Get the facts about Humane Society Silicon Valley (HSSV) with this quick glimpse at our organizational information.


Humane Society Silicon Valley (HSSV) (Tax ID: 94-1196215)
901 Ames Ave.,
Milpitas, CA, 95035
Phone: 408-262-2133
Fax: 408-262-2131


Humane Society Silicon Valley (HSSV) offers quality adoptions, affordable spaying/neutering, vaccinations and microchipping services, pet care services and education programs to enhance the human-animal bond. Established in 1929, HSSV has adopted more than 500,000 animals into permanent, loving homes. HSSV operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. HSSV is the first Animal Community Center in the nation to receive Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the U.S. Green Building Council. HSSV is also the first organization in the country to meet the guidelines put forth by the Association of Shelter Veterinarians for standards of care for shelter animals.


To save and enhance lives – both four-legged and two-legged!


Through compassion and collaboration, we are building a community in Silicon Valley where every pet has a home.


HSSV is a non-profit organization supported by individual donations, program fees, foundation and corporate grants, and special events. The agency is governed by a volunteer board of directors, which oversees an annual operating budget of approximately $10 million.


Adoptions – Spay/Neuter Medical Center – Lost & found – Humane Education Pet Store – Grooming – Training – Dog Park


Approximately 100 employees, 1,300 volunteers and 17,000 annual donors.


Carol Novello - President
Dr. Cristie Kamiya - Chief of Shelter Medicine
Joanne Jacobs - Chief of Operations (Marketing, IT, Facilities)
Stephanie Ladeira - Chief of Philanthropy and Community Development
Yvonne Saucedo - VP, Human Resources, Education and Volunteer Programs
Candice Balmaceda - VP, Finance

Board Officers

Chair: Kurt Krukenberg
Vice Chair: Sally Hazard Bourgoin
Treasurer: Peter Detkin
Secretary: TBD

Board Members

Alison Buchanan
Sue Diekman
Blythe Jack
Lars Rabbe
Rebecca Owen Ranninger
Christy Richardson
Brenda Swiney
Debbie Vander Zwaag

Honorary Board

John Diekman
Dick Levy
Sue Levy
Judy Marcus
Betty Moore
Dr. Gordon Moore
Tara VanDerveer
Steve Wozniak


Carol Novello